Spanish 101

Monday – lunes

Tuesday – martes

Wednesday – miércoles

Thursday – jueves

Friday – viernes

Saturday – sábado

Sunday – domingo

 

Stem-changing verbs

 

When regular verbs (comprar, beber, usar, etc.) are conjugated in the present tense, they do not suffer any change in the main vowel of their stem. However, there are some verbs that do suffer changes in their stem. These are called “stem-changing verbs” (DUH!) There are three main groups of these verbs:

a- Verbs that change the vowel “e” into “ ie

b- Verbs that change the vowel “o” into “ue

c- Verbs that change the vowel “e” into “ i

 

Examples:

  1. a) Pensar (think): pienso, piensas, piensa, pensamos, pie
  2. b) Poder (can, may): puedo, puedes, puede, podemos, pueden
  3. c) Pedir (to ask for): Pido, pides, pide, pedimos, piden

 

NOTE: when conjugated in the 1st. person plural (“Nosotros”), the stem does not suffer any changes, keeping the vowel it originally had in the infinitive (“e”, “o”, and “e”, respectively.)  For more examples of the most common stem-changing verbs, see the attached list.

Now, practice the following dialogue:

 

– (pensar) ¿Qué piensas (tú) de nuestro alcalde? (What do you think  about our Mayor?)

– (querer) Yo no quiero pensar en eso.(I don’t want to think about it.)

 

-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x

 

– (poder) ¿Ustedes pueden estudiar español en la escuela Georges Vanier? (Can you study Spanish at  G.V.  school?)

 

– Sí, nosotros podemos. (Yes, we can).

 

-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x

 

Fill the blanks with the appropriate verbal form of the verbs in brackets. The verbs are conjugated in the present tense only.

 

¿ ____________ (poder) usted decirme dónde queda el consulado de México? (Can you tell me where is the Consulate of Mexico?)

 

Sí, yo ______________(poder) decirle. Queda en la esquina de la avenida University y la calle Dundas. (Yes, I can tell you. It is at the corner of University Avenue and Dundas Street.)

 

Ustedes ____________________ (querer) un vaso de vino? (Do you (Plural) want a glass of wine?)

 

No, gracias. Nosotros no ____________________ (querer) beber porque vamos a manejar. (No, Thanks. We don’t want to drink because we’re going to drive.)

 

Meeting someone in a pub on Queen Street. (Practice this dialogue in pairs)

 

  1. Hola.

 

  1. Hola.

 

  1. ¿Cómo te llamas?

 

  1. Me llamo ___________________________ ¿Y tú?

 

  1. Me llamo. _________________________ ¿Vienes siempre por aquí?

 

  1. Sí, todos los viernes. ¿Y tú?

 

  1. Yo no, hoy es la primera vez que vengo.

 

  1. ¿Vives cerca de aquí?

 

  1. Sí, me cambié recientemente. Vivo a dos cuadras de aquí. ¿Y tú?

 

  1. No, yo no vivo cerca, pero trabajo allí enfrente, en aquella librería.

 

  1. ¿Qué haces en la librería?

 

  1. Soy vendedor/a. ¿Tú trabajas?

 

  1. Sí, yo soy secretaria/o de un abogado, trabajo en la calle Dundas.

 

  1. ¿Qué quieres tomar? Yo invito.

 

  1. Bueno, gracias. ¿Puedes pedir un jugo de naranja para mí, por favor? ¿Qué vas a tomar tú?

 

  1. Yo quiero tomar una cerveza bien helada.

 

  1. Yo pienso que una cerveza helada es deliciosa en este calor.

 

  1. ¿Tú no bebes alcohol?

 

  1. Sí, a veces. Pero hoy no tengo ganas de beber.

 

  1. Bueno, está bien.

Ejercicio de verbos que cambian su raíz (stem-changing verbs exercise.)

 

In the blanks, write the appropriate verbal form of the verb in brackets, according to the pronoun indicated.

 

  1. Yo no ________________ comprar esa casa. (poder)

 

 

  1. Tú __________________ que eres muy buena. (pensar)

 

 

  1. Nosotros _________________ dos cervezas. (pedir)

 

 

  1. Ellas ___________________ viajar hoy en la tarde. (querer)

 

 

  1. ¡Oh María, yo ________________ contigo todas las noches! (soñar)

 

 

  1. Ustedes ______________ los pasos de su padre. (seguir)

 

 

  1. Mi hijo no  _______________ nunca (mentir).

 

 

  1. ¿A qué hora _________________ tú? (almorzar)

 

 

  1. ¿Cuál camisa  __________________ ella?  (preferir)

 

 

  1. Yo sé que ustedes no _______________ mis métodos. (aprobar)

 

 

  1. Nosotros _______________ cuentos a nuestros hijos. (contar)

 

 

  1. Ellos no ________________ mi nombre. (recordar)

 

 

  1. ¿Cuánto _______________ tú? (medir)

 

 

  1. Cuando &_________________Ú el ¯sol ¯aquí en la playa… Ú (calentar)
Leave a Reply

